Over Fifty Participants!

I’m so excited guys. 🙂 It seems like people are enjoying the first mini-challenge as well (although, that of course, is optional). Has anyone started their first book? I’ve put China: Fragile Superpower on hold, still waiting for it to arrive at my library branch though! If anyone has started a book, have you learned anything new or interesting or cool?

12 responses to “Over Fifty Participants!

  1. Well, I’m not sure if I’ve started or not … I’ve got a book here that “might” work for the challenge, but I can’t figure out which category it fits in or if it is even eligible. The title is The Man Who Loved China, and it is a biography by Simon Winchester. Here’s a link to the Amazon summary. What do you think? Does it fit someplace?

  2. I’ve just started an ARC of “Honeymoon in Tehran” by Azadeh Moaveni. Are ARCs acceptable for this challenge? I think this particular book is coming out any day now though.

    She is also the author of “Lipstick Jihad” which covers her experience growing up Iranian-American and her time in Iran in the late 1990s.

    “Honeymoon in Tehran” starts out with the 2005 presidential election in Iran and I’m currently at the part where Ahmadinejad has just beat Rafsanjani and other candidates–and also Ms. Moaveni has just met the man who will become her husband and fathering her child…not necessarily in that order…a big problem in conservative Iran ….it has been interesting reading so far.

    She is young (only in her early 30s now) so Lipstick Jihad (and, so far what I’ve read of Honeymoon in Tehran) also focuses on the potential future of Iran–are the young people going to be able to someday shape that country in a good way? And how are they dealing with the current problems of Iran?

  3. I’ve put The End of Poverty and The Post-American World both on hold at my library – there’s a pretty long waiting list for both of them!

    I did get A People’s History of the World by Chris Harman – but I’ve only read the introduction so far.

  4. I got one from the library and read it; review coming today. I thought it was a “scholarly” book but it was more of a coffee table book. I’ll probably read something else in the end….

  5. Heather, that book is definitely international! I’d put it under world issues, since it’s about science and a white man in China and stuff like that. But if you need it to go under culture or history instead, that would work.

    Valerie, ARCs are definitely acceptable! It’s so interesting to see how young people in various countries have or don’t have political power. I was researching Chechnya for my Russian class this semester, and there the young people have a ton of political power and the middle-aged people are pushed to the margins. Why? The current dictator has decided to use Islam to cement his power, and while the young people are willing to abide by uber-traditional Muslim rules, the middle-aged people (who grew up in the atheistic USSR) aren’t. Interesting, huh?

    Becca, there’s a long list for the Post-American world at my library too! I haven’t heard of A People’s History of the World, but it sounds interesting. I’m assuming it’s Howard Zinn-style revisionist history?

    Rebecca, that’s too bad!

  6. It’s in the same vein as Zinn, yes.

  7. I just started China, A New History, which is discussing the way China was once far ahead of the rest of the world in most aspects of civilization (circa 11th and 12th centuries), and looking at reasons why they fell behind. This book was written in 1991, so the huge changes we’re seeing in China now weren’t yet so prevalent.

  8. Becca (lupingirl), very interesting-I’ll look forward to your review!

    Becca, oh how neat. I wonder if the author will make any predictions about the ‘future’ of China, and if they’ll be right or not.

  9. worldcitizenshipchallenge

    Well, I AM participating, but I don’t seem to be able to get anything to work, not the sign up, not Mr. Linky to link as a participant, nothing. I hope we Luddites can just post on our own blogs and send links here.

  10. Just finished Cruel and Usual Punishment: The Terrifying Global Implications of Islamic Law by Nonie Darwish. I’ll be posting a review later.

    I think that there are things in this book that may help explain the phenomenon that Eva describes concerning Chechnya. We in the west underestimate the totality of Islamic law.

  11. IndianaJane, thanks for sharing your thoughts and posting the review. 🙂

  12. I finally got to pick up The Post-American World, so I started reading today. I also went to the first meeting of a discussion group I joined at my library – Great Decisions. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s organized by the Foreign Policy Association and it seems really interesting so far.

    Anyway, I mention it because the FPA website (http://www.fpa.org/) has some great resources for this challenge, and if you click on Great Decisions and then on Discussion Groups, you can find a group in your area.

Leave a Reply

